Rail Trail – Chester to Chester Basin

I realized it had been six months somehow since I’d made any progress on my goal to hike the rail trail from Hubbards to at least Mahone Bay.  I had cycled it from Halifax to Hubbards.  But hiking it gave me much more time to savour things en route as long as those things weren’t insects which so far this summer haven’t been an issue.  It’s been pure bliss with interesting sightings mixed with just trees but time to think.  This section had some rocky sections which were tiring as my sneakers are thinly soled.  I came home exhausted this day though I had done over four hours and it was quite hot and months since my  last long hike.  I have already made Lunenburg though the last stretch was done by bike which was so fast with few photos.  I may do a bit more if I have time but I have covered a lot of ground recently.  It’s easy to do.

Here are some highlights from this section of the trail in late June.

P1040417.JPG

P1040420.JPG

Duck  family.

P1040432

This looks like an alien.

P1040442

Lady  Slippers.  I saw many.  I haven’t seen them much for years.  Relative of orchids and supposedly don’t grow back for seven years if you pick them or so I was told as a child after I picked one.  Oh the shame.

P1040477Bridge over calm water.

P1040491

P1040509

Look for the noisy guy who gave himself away.  There were a few but I only found this one.

P1040513

Loving the lupine takeover.  Everything has its time in the sun.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

